5 Books I Finally Want to Read in 2017

Sometimes my procrastination gets so severe that I put off reading books that I actually want to read. One of my resolutions (for next year, of course) is to end this awful habit. Here are five books that I finally want to read in 2017:

porters-holiday-sale

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

I’ve38447 been curious about this book ever since Jen from clothesencounters mentioned it in her 2015 April favorites video. I’m pretty passive about dystopian novels, I don’t love or hate them, but the idea of a dystopian novel with strong feminist themes intrigues me. I had actually read the first few pages of this book on multiple occasions, but I always got distracted by another book that interested me more at that time. The book seemed promising, so I’ll make a point of finally reading it in 2017.

Porter's holiday Sale (1).png

World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie by Max Brooks

8908

Zombies. I love posing and pondering on random, theoretical questions regarding zombies such as the typical What would you do in a zombie apocoplyse? or the unusual  Can zombies get possessed?

World War Z is one of the most successful novels in its genre and is the highest-grossing zombie movie of this generation. I think it’s a damn shame that I haven’t read it yet. Let it be known that I, Belle, will finally read World War Z in 2017.

Porter's holiday Sale.jpg

The Black Prism (Lightbringer #1) by Brent Weeks

7165300

I first heard about this book from Regan of PeruseProject. She constantly raves about the “Lightbringer” series in her videos and gushes over how neat the magic system is.

I almost started the series about two months ago, but I picked up The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson instead. I think I’ll need some time before I read another epic fantasy series. Waiting until next year should be ample time.

porters-holiday-sale-1

A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini

a-thousand-splendid-suns

This is a well-loved book among many, including my sister who first recommended it to me ages ago. I had been putting it off because it will apparently play on my heart-strings, and I never felt quite ready for that. I think I owe it to my sister to finally read this book in 2017.

Porter's holiday Sale (2).jpg

Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

clockwork-angel

It is nearly impossible to walk through the Young Adult section in a bookstore without spotting a Cassandra Clare book. I feel like I have done a disservice to the YA book community because I have never read one of her books.

I need to redeem my honor in 2017, and finally reading The Clockwork Angel seems like a good start.

porters-holiday-sale-3

What are some books you finally want to read in 2017?

Top 5 Wednesday (#T5W) is a bookish meme created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey) in 2013. You can learn more about it by visiting the group’s goodreads page.

3 thoughts on “5 Books I Finally Want to Read in 2017

Leave a Reply

