Book Review: Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

dark matter.jpg

Title: Dark Matter

Author: Blake Crouch

Published: July 26, 2016

Pages: 342

Genre: Science Fiction, Thriller, Mystery

Amazon / Barnes & NoblesGoodreads

Goodreads Description: 

“Are you happy with your life?”

Those are the last words Jason Dessen hears before the masked abductor knocks him unconscious.

Before he awakens to find himself strapped to a gurney, surrounded by strangers in hazmat suits.

Before a man Jason’s never met smiles down at him and says, “Welcome back, my friend.”

In this world he’s woken up to, Jason’s life is not the one he knows. His wife is not his wife. His son was never born. And Jason is not an ordinary college physics professor, but a celebrated genius who has achieved something remarkable. Something impossible.

Is it this world or the other that’s the dream? And even if the home he remembers is real, how can Jason possibly make it back to the family he loves? The answers lie in a journey more wondrous and horrifying than anything he could’ve imagined—one that will force him to confront the darkest parts of himself even as he battles a terrifying, seemingly unbeatable foe.

january-12

I have a confession: for every science fiction book I read, I read roughly twenty books from other genres. That’s alarming coming from someone who claims her favorite genre is science fiction. Let me explain though. I need to space out my sci-fi books with cheesy contemporaries otherwise my brain will melt and I’ll self-destruct from all the feels. It’s quite a predicament. However, it’s always worth the wait when I finally pick up a sci-fi book I’ve been waiting to read. In this case, that book is Dark Matter.

Dark Matter is about middle-aged, physics professor Jason Dessen. He lives a normal, happy life with few regrets and has a loving wife and son. It’s all ripped away from him one day when he is abducted and placed in a world that is not his. We follow Jason as he uncovers the terrifying truths of his situation and the obstacles he’ll have to overcome to return to his old life.

“This book is so cool!” was honestly my first reaction after I finished reading it. The major science elements of this book were all things I’ve read about before, but Crouch went more into detail and provided the scientific explanations of how they worked. I’m so glad that he did because it led me to discover a branch of science (that I don’t want to mention in case it spoils the book) that I’m really interested in.  I’ve been youtube-ing videos to learn more about it and have consequently had some interesting conversations with my siblings.

But it’s all, in the end, just life. We see it macro, like one big story, but when you’re in it, it’s all just day-to-day, right? And isn’t that what you have to make your peace with?”

This book really made me think and put things in perspective. Some people have mentioned that this book made them feel small and scared, and I understand where they are coming from. But, I personally found that feeling of being small very comforting.

This book still scared me in other ways. Jason sees some gruesome things and there’s a chilling twist towards the end of the book that forced me to stay up into the wee hours of morning to finish the book.

january-15

Dark Matter had all the ingredients to become a favorite of mine. The story never stalled and I can’t stop thinking about it until now. I feel like my world has gotten a lot bigger and I can’t name another book that has made me feel that way.

I tried to keep this review as vague as possible because I think the less you know about this book, the better.

i loved it

porters-holiday-sale-3

Have you read Dark Matter? What did you think of it? If you want to discuss the details of the book in the comments, just put a spoiler warning 😊.
3 thoughts on “Book Review: Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

Leave a Reply

