My Favorite Books of 2017 (Part One)

I’m proud to say that although I’ve miserably failed at all my other reading goals for 2017, I’ve kept up with my Goodreads Reading Challenge. I’ve read thirty-five out of my fifty book goal, so I figured I would share which ones are my favorite so far 😊.

(The books are listed in the order that I read them, oldest to most recent.)


Edenbrooke by Julianne Donaldson

[Goodreads/My Review]

edenbrookeEdenbrooke was a delightful, historical fiction romance about the maiden, Marianne Daventry. When her sister, Cecily, invites her to spend some time in the English countryside, Marianne agrees to get away from an unwanted suitor. What was meant to be a peaceful getaway, turns into a series of turmoil for Marianne.

This book is perfect for those of you who enjoy reading about horse rides in the countryside, fancy balls, and perfect gentleman love interests.

The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

[Goodreads]

the alchemist.jpgI’m glad that I finally got around to reading The Alchemist this year. My brother was the one who recommended it to me, revealing that it always motivates him to work when he’s in a rut.

This is a short book that follows a young, Spanish Shepard named Santiago who goes on a journey to find a treasure hidden at the Pyramids of Giza. I think this quote from the book is a good summary of what it’s about:

“People are capable, at any time of their lives, of doing what they dream of.”

The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

[Goodreads/My Review]

The following is from the review I made for The Sun Is Also a Star:

the sun is also a starI was taken aback by how much The Sun Is Also a Star resonated with me. There were several parallels between this book and my life and, in the end, this was honestly the most emotional I’ve been over a book.

In this story, seventeen-year-olds Natasha and Daniel paths cross on a pivotal day of both their lives in New York City. Natasha is an illegal immigrant and trying to stop her family’s deportation back to Jamaica from happening that night. Meanwhile, Daniel, a first generation Korean-American, has an interview for Yale that he agreed to for his parent’s benefit and is looking for any sign from God to point his life in the right direction. Daniel is convinced that their meeting is fate while Natasha believes it was coincidental and doubts anything will become of them. They end up taking on the day together and learning many things about themselves, their family, love, and life.

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

[Goodreads]

illuminae.jpgIlluminae is about two teenagers, Kady and Ezra, who barely escape death on a refugee spaceship when their illegal, mining planet comes under attack by a rival company. Their lives become one big race in that they need to evade a pursuing enemy spaceship, avoid catching a deadly bug spreading among passengers, and deal with a malfunctioning AI. The story is told through various records such as interviews, chats, and emails.

So. Many. Plot. Twists.

Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

[Goodreads/My Review]

The following is from the review I made for Dark Matter:

dark matterDark Matter is about middle-aged, physics professor Jason Dessen. He lives a normal, happy life with few regrets and has a loving wife and son. It’s all ripped away from him one day when he is abducted and placed in a world that is not his. We follow Jason as he uncovers the terrifying truths of his situation and the obstacles he’ll have to overcome to return to his old life.

Dark Matter had all the ingredients to become a favorite of mine. The story never stalled and I can’t stop thinking about it until now. I feel like my world has gotten a lot bigger and I can’t name another book that has made me feel that way.

porters-holiday-sale-3

How about you—what are your favorite books of 2017 so far? Let me know if you have read any of these book or plan to pick them up ☺️.
Leave a Reply

