Sequel September TBR // a month of tackling unfinished series

Oh boy, here we go again—quite literally (get it? ‘cause it’s a sequel challenge? I’ll stop myself.)

Kathy at Books and Munches is hosting Sequel September, a challenge dedicated to finally reading those unfinished series collecting dust on your shelves. Although I love binge reading series (mainly because I hate cliffhangers), sometimes sequels fall through the cracks and remain in my TBR pile for an indeterminate amount of time. So, what better way to tackle this “ issue “ by joining in on this challenge!

But, first, I have a confession to make.

𝕴, 𝕭𝖊𝖑𝖑𝖊, 𝖆𝖒 𝖆 𝖘𝖊𝖗𝖎𝖆𝖑 𝖈𝖍𝖆𝖑𝖑𝖊𝖓𝖌𝖊 𝖆𝖇𝖆𝖓𝖉𝖔𝖓𝖊𝖗.

I’m not proud of it—there’s nothing fun about finding a great reading challenge… and then watching it pass you by. Seeing wrap-ups for challenges I intended to participate in, but didn’t, couldn’t, or even forgot to attempt is quite disheartening. However, since I’m relatively less busy these days  a n d  I’m posting a TBR online for you all to see, I’m hoping that I’ll be more committed to this reading challenge.

𝕴, 𝕭𝖊𝖑𝖑𝖊, 𝖜𝖆𝖓𝖙 𝖙𝖔 𝖜𝖎𝖑𝖑 𝖇𝖊 𝖆 𝖈𝖍𝖆𝖑𝖑𝖊𝖓𝖌𝖊 𝖈𝖔𝖒𝖕𝖑𝖊𝖙𝖊𝖗.

This reading challenge will be a little more difficult than others, just because of what it entails. Like I mentioned, sequels on my shelves sit there for a loooong time. One of the reasons they stay there is because so much time has passed that I can’t even remember what happened in the first book 😅. Alas, this challenge will not only be a test of endurance, but also memory.

If you hate me right now, so do I HAHAHA.

Without further ado and dramatics, here’s my TBR for Sequel September:

*Usually I would include the Goodreads description of the books I mention in a post, but I realized I should forgo that this time around to prevent spoilers. Please enjoy my three word blurbs instead!

Down Among the Sticks and Bones by Seanan McGuire

Series: Wayward Children / #2

[Goodreads]

d.jpg

🌱 ᴡʜᴀᴛ’s ɪᴛ ᴀʙᴏᴜᴛ? – – >

dark fairytale retelling ✨


Obsidio by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Series: The Illuminae Files / #3

[Goodreads]

o

🌱 ᴡʜᴀᴛ’s ɪᴛ ᴀʙᴏᴜᴛ? – – >

AI, space war 🚀


A Reaper at the Gates by Sabaa Tahir

Series: An Ember in the Ashes / #3

[Goodreads]

a.jpg

🌱 ᴡʜᴀᴛ’s ɪᴛ ᴀʙᴏᴜᴛ? – – >

magic, politics, war ⚔️


Our Dark Duet by Victoria Schwab

Series: Monsters of Verity / #2

[Goodreads]

od

🌱 ᴡʜᴀᴛ’s ɪᴛ ᴀʙᴏᴜᴛ? – – >

war on monsters 👹


Revival, Vol. 6: Thy Loyal Sons & Daughters by Tim Seeley

Series: Revival / #30-35

[Goodreads]

r.jpg

🌱 ᴡʜᴀᴛ’s ɪᴛ ᴀʙᴏᴜᴛ? – – >

zombies vs. police vs. zealots 🧟 (ahem, so… war?)

You seeing the common theme here? It was unintentional—I swear I love peace, bruh ☮️.

Thanks for reading! And thanks to Kathy for this awesome challenge!
I will be a challenge completer.
Anyone else interested in joining Sequel September?

Rules
◊ Post a blog post / comment / Tweet / whatever saying you’ll be joining me in my battle against the TBR-sequels and pingback to this year’s post.
◊ Share your list of all the TBR-sequels that you own and then decide which ones to give priority to.
[Can’t decide which ones to read first? Maybe you can create a poll and let others help you decide!]
◊ If you’re sharing your updates on social media, use #SequelSeptember so we can follow up on each other!

What do you think about my TBR? Any suggestions on which book I should start with? Let me know ☺️.

2 thoughts on “Sequel September TBR // a month of tackling unfinished series

Leave a comment