My 2021 New Year’s Resolutions // reflecting on last year and starting a digital reading journal

Happy new year!

I haven’t done one of these posts since 2018 (three years ago!?!), so I thought I would finally do one in the spirit of 2021 being a better year than 2020 🤞.

The overarching theme that I’ve set for myself this year is: I can do difficult things. It’s pretty much the same as my 2018 theme to “push myself outside of my comfort zone”, and as it silly as it sounds, it’s actually effective having something like a saying that I can remind myself of all year. (It’s better than not having anything to guide me like last year 😅.) Although my resolutions are very general and don’t appear to fall under “I can do difficult things“, it’s all cohesive in my head 😂:

one. live in the moment and do what i can in the present.

Last year, I compiled clips I had accumulated on my phone over the span of five years into a very sappy video, and one of the biggest takeaways I had by making it was that I need to live in the present more.

TWO. let go of negative feelings more easily.

Like everyone else, this year I want to feel lighter, and for me, I think most of that is going to come from making an effort to practice more positive self-talk.

THREE. reach out to people more and check up on the people i love.

Over the summer last year, an alumni from my high school wrote an extremely eye-opening article about our school that made me think more deeply about its culture. One of the things they touched upon was the student body’s poor mental health and how the school’s approach to it should go beyond telling students to seek help if they need it and blaming them when they don’t. It made me think about how awesome it is that it’s become more acceptable for people to open up about their mental health in recent years, yet actively asking people and showing genuine concern about how they’re feeling is so important because it’s still an extremely terrifying thing to express the problems you’ve only ever sat with by yourself.

FOUR. be more open.

This was one of my resolutions last year, and I think I succeeded in it in certain ways (namely by starting a youtube channel). However, I want to continue to challenge myself to be generally more honest and less guarded about what I’m thinking and feeling so that I can –

FIVE. take myself and life less seriously.

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

the song i think of when i think of being less serious 😂

ONE. read more intentionally.

This is another extremely broad resolution and something I’ve done incrementally more over the years, but this year I want to diversify my reading even more. Seji from The Artisan Geek made a fantastic video last year about Intentional Reading and How to Diversify Your Reading Material that helped me expand what I can consider as “diverse”.

TWO. start and keep up a digital reading journal.

“Digital reading journal” sounds pretty much like a blog 😂, but this will be a new ~feature~ that I’m going to try out this year. I was quite sporadic with blogging for the past several months for different reasons, and I’ve been trying to think of ways that I can approach consistently writing blog posts more casually.

This video from Nat at anattynook gets full credit for giving me an idea to start a digital reading journal where I will share three, key things I’ve learned from my recent reads in each journal entry, or post. While they may not be as helpful as book reviews, I’m hoping the entries will help me continue to share my reading on this blog while allowing myself to reflect on books a bit more quickly than when I write reviews 😅.

(I’ll still write book reviews though!)

Thanks for reading this far! Happy new year again! Do you like making resolutions? General or specific 😅? What are some of your new year resolutions? Let me know 🙂.
WHERE ELSE TO FIND ME: GOODREADS / YOUTUBE / BLOGLOVIN’

16 thoughts on “My 2021 New Year’s Resolutions // reflecting on last year and starting a digital reading journal

  1. belle these goals sound so good and i really hope you do well in them!! i.. don’t think i’m going to set any goals for myself in 2021 :”) i hit a few of my 2020 goals, but i really stressed myself out in the process of hitting them, & i really want to let go of that in 2021. i think my only goal for the year is to try my best in all aspects of my life & not be as stressed as i was in 2020!

    i hope you have a great year ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. the digital journal looks like such a great idea!! i’m not big on resolutions, but somehow bookish goals are excluded from this? like i won’t make diet/exercise/social resolutions, but i will 100% make a bookish goal and try hard to follow through on it lol. this year i want to read more literary and middle grade!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad for that youtube video for giving me the idea hahaha! And I completely get that – I don’t have any diet resolutions for this year 😂. That sounds like a great goal – best of luck 🤞🏽!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ah Belle these are fantastic goals, best of luck for all of them! Trying to let go of the negativity and just be in a positive mindset is something I’d need to work on as well, aha. And that digital reading journal sounds like such a great idea, looking forward to it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It was so great to see your goals here and I wish you all the best with them. I really liked the be more open one, as well as live in the moment, I think a lot of time everyone just says they’re fine and no one means it. I know I do it so I think it is a really good and healthy thing to do !!
    I definitely think being more intentional with reading is important too as I never used to do but as I started to read more in general and more diversely I think I’ve become more aware that you do need to make the effort and research specific areas of diversity to make sure your reading is inclusive.
    I’m very excited about your digital reading journal, I’ll keep my eyes peeled for it 💕💕

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Sophie 😄! And yeah! I’ve found that it’s usually better to not be so guarded about how I’m feeling cause it just makes me feel more isolated and can kinda add to other people’s feelings of isolation if they’re feeling similar things that they feel that they can’t express either (if that makes sense hahaha).
      There’s definitely some extra effort and research that goes into reading more diversely. It’s for sure not as easy as just picking up a book not written by a straight white man hahaha. I think you’re doing a great job!
      Ahh I’ve been trying to make the first digital reading journal post for a while now, but I keep overthinking it 😂. Thank you for being so down to see it haha 💛!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment